A Fond Farewell

Posted on April 30, 2010 by

2


By Jim Chandley

I’ve been involved with this paper for three years and change now.  In three hours I will take my last final at Emmanuel College and no longer be an active member of the club.  So to the few of you who may still read our website, I want to say thank you.

I set out to make this online publication a staple in the life of students at Emmanuel, and in that regard, I failed.  However, I somewhat voluntarily abandoned that pursuit because I realized just how important it was to the student body and especially to the members of our club that we print a hard copy of the paper, and in that regard, we succeeded beyond any expectations except my own.

I think we had a great year, and that should come as no surprise because we had a great staff.

And the best is yet to come.  In the works for next year is a media center, a place where members of Le Renard, Emmanuel College Radio, and BANG! Magazine will be able to create their products and collaborate on new ones.  Why no one had this idea before is beyond me, but I had the privilege of sitting in on a meeting this week with members of the faculty and staff as well as students from Le Renard and ECR, and the idea was proposed and deemed feasible by the authorities present.

The hope is that this new media center will be online when you all get back here next September.  I can only imagine the kinds of great things this will bring to our little campus.  Get out there, get innovative, and put this new space to the use it should be put to.  You will do great things.

With that, I leave you all with my sincere thanks.  It has been a great year, a great four years, and an experience that I will cherish.  Don’t stop working, don’t stop dreaming and creating, and most of all, don’t stop being the biggest little newspaper and campus that anyone’s ever seen.  You (the members of the staff and the students of this college) have done more amazing things in more amazing ways than anyone would think possible for such a small group.  It’s been an honor and a pleasure working with you.

-James Michael Chandley

Editor in Chief, Le Renard

Emmanuel College Class of 2010

Posted in: Politics